Sherlock Holmes Analysis – Introduction

There are a crazy number of shows and movie series that provide (or have provided) direct, indirect, or super-indirect adaptations of the Sherlock Holmes stories of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Since I have no interest in digging too deeply into the history of this topic, I’m limiting myself to analyzing the following:

Holmes Proper – Shows where characters have the same (or very similar) names:

  • Guy Ritchie film series
  • Elementary
  • Sherlock

Holmes Lite – Shows where characters are renamed:

  • Law and Order: Criminal Intent
  • Monk
  • House
  • Psych

These are simply the incarnations that I’m familiar enough with. I’m sure there are others. But even so, there’s plenty here to work with. What I plan to do over the next few posts is determine my favorite incarnation of each of the signature characters, ending with my choice for the best overall adaptation. So as not to annoy purists too much, I’ll be looking at Holmes Proper and Holmes Lite separately, but I still reserve the right to select my overall favorite from either category. (So there!)

The game is on!

Leave a Reply

