The Wolfman

thewI’ll admit, I saw this one in the theatre four years ago… and I don’t remember all that much about it. (Feels like ten years ago, actually.) But I do remember a few things.

For example, the marketing gave away the “twist” involving Anthony Hopkins. Which bugged me. Benicio del Toro’s accent wasn’t impenetrable, which was a plus. The creature effects were good enough, I suppose, but Hollywood still can’t do wolves at all. (I assume that’s because we see dogs every day of our lives, so making photo-real facsimiles is dramatically harder than, say, dinosaurs.)

What the film does do well is maintain a gothic, sort of Victorian era tone. So the hero is tortured and always in his own head. Science is kind of a menacing concept. And Emily Blunt was the exact damsel-in-distress that the stories from this age were populated with. So, in other words, she’s there to be scared, and little else.

If I stumbled across this on cable, I wouldn’t switch the channel, but I certainly wouldn’t seek it out.

Emily Blunt was in The Wolfman with Benicio del Toro. Benicio del Toro was in…

Leave a Reply

